top of page

Studio Music: Chet Baker


Chet Baker courtesy of Bob Willoughby Photography

Music is an extremely powerful art that can directly influence a person's mood and attitude. I often find that I listen to a wide variety of genres based on the activity that I am doing. My gym playlist is completely different from my commuting playlist, and my commuting playlist is separate from my coffee break playlist. However, one of my favorite parts about music is finding a new artist that blows you away and makes you dive deep into their work.

Chet Baker is nowhere near new to the music industry, but I recently came across his work and have been listening to him nonstop. I'm not a stranger to older music such as Frank Sinatra, Johnny Hodges, and Louis Prima, but somehow Baker had been hidden from me. While being well known for his trumpet skills, I have been obsessed with the tracks that he sings in combination with playing the trumpet. His voice is soft and calming, and he, without trying, grabs the listener's ear. All of his music, although taking years to master, appears to come with ease and grace. After listening to his songs, it comes as no surprise that he was given the nickname Prince of Cool.

image source: Bob Willoughby Photography

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page