top of page

Floral Paintings: Thick Textures and Vibrant Colors

Before I began to personally explore painting, I had always admired artists that utilized texture and color in their works. Some of the artworks that I have been most inspired by were pieces that made me want to run my fingers across the canvas. Because of this obsession with texture and color, palette knives have become my go to tools when starting a painting.

Flowers were the perfect subject choice for practicing application techniques with palette knives. The layers of the pedals can be broken down into simplified, layered strokes, and the variety of colors is endless. I happened to come across a couple of techniques that I instantly fell in love with. The first was loading up the knife with multiple colors and watching them mix and blend as I applied the knife to the canvas. The second is not fully mixing colors on my palette and then laying it on the canvas. This created a really nice swirled and creamy effect.

This series was a great learning experience and has definitely given me a greater appreciation for flowers. I hope you like the layering and textures as much as I do.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page